Margaret Mitchell House

Save
Top 1% of attractions in Atlanta
8 / 10

10 expert reviews

“The small first-floor apartment where the author wrote her Pulitzer Prize-winning book “Gone with the Wind.”  ”

– Atlas Obscura

Fodor's Fodor's
"To many Atlantans, the Margaret Mitchell House symbolizes the conflict between promoting the city's heritage and respecting its roots." Full review
Frommer's Frommer's
"Eight decades after it was first published, Gone With the Wind continues to fascinate people around the world." Full review
Travel + Leisure Travel + Leisure
"Visitors to Atlanta, especially Southern history and literature buffs, won't want to miss the Margaret Mitchell House and Museum, operated by the Atlanta History Center." Full review
Frommer's Frommer's
"Fans of Scarlett O'Hara and Rhett Butler often come to Atlanta for one reason alone: To see for themselves where the great Margaret Mitchell penned "Gone with the Wind." " Full review
Not For Tourists Not For Tourists
"Called "the dump" by the "Gone with the Wind" author."
Show All Reviews